× Unsupported Browser: Some features may not work properly in Interent Explorer. Please use one of the supported browsers - Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Microsoft Edge.

Sheriff's Office

Victim Services

Sheriff's Office

Sheriff's Office


Patrol Services

Patrol Services

The La Crosse County Sheriff's Office provides 24-hour coverage year round to the community. The Patrol Division's responsibilities are to enforce all federal, state and local laws to include traffic violations. In addition to responding to calls for service, we also assist area fire departments, 1st responders and ambulance services. Some of our deputies also spend time in our local schools as DARE and GREAT instructors.

Court Services

The La Crosse County Sheriff's Office Court Services division is responsible for the transport of inmates to court and other facilities.


    Investigative Services

    The La Crosse County Sheriff's Office has five investigators assigned to the Investigative Bureau. Casework includes missing persons, sensitive crimes, white collar crime, drug investigations, property crimes, child endangerment cases, and identity theft. La Crosse County is also part of the West Central Metropolitan Enforcement Group, which is a drug task force made up of the following counties: La Crosse, Vernon, Trempealeau, Monroe, and Jackson.

    Property & Evidence

    Office hours for the Property & Evidence division is Monday – Friday, 8:00a – 4:00p. You must make an appointment to meet with the Evidence Technician by calling the Business Office at (608)785-9629.

    • Found Property: Found property may be picked up at the Sheriff's Office by appointment only.
    • Seized Property: Seized property may be picked up at the Sheriff's Office only after approval from the District Attorney's office. To contact the District Attorney's Office, please call (608)785-9604.


    Civil Process Service

    Paper Service: It is the responsibility of the Sheriff's Office to serve or execute according to law, all processes, writs, precepts, and orders issued or made by lawful authority according to Wisconsin State Statute 59.27(4). To learn more, click here.

    Sheriff's Sales: Sheriff Sales are normally conducted on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays at 10:00 a.m. in the center hallway of the Courthouse and Law Enforcement Center, 333 Vine Street, La Crosse, WI.  To learn more, click here.

    Emergency Response Team (ERT)

    The La Crosse County Emergency Response Team (E.R.T.) is an on-call tactical unit that currently consists of 15 sworn law enforcement officers, 9 negotiators and 2 medical professionals.  Team members are experienced deputies and officers from the La Crosse County Sheriff's Office, Onalaska Police Department, Holmen Police Department, Campbell Police Department, and Wisconsin State Patrol.  E.R.T. members are trained at an extremely high level to provide safe and efficient resolutions to emergency situations.  The team consists of medical professionals, crisis negotiators, supervisors, K-9 handlers, investigators, and instructors.  Team members train 16 hours a month to maintain a high level of skill and discipline.  In addition to monthly training, team members attend training courses offered in Wisconsin and around the nation. We are committed to the safety of our community and work every day to improve our level of service.

    La Crosse County E.R.T is one of eight teams in Wisconsin selected to be a regional regional response team. The regional Aligned Law Enforcement Response Teams (ALERT) are part of a Wisconsin Emergency Management initiative comprised of identified law enforcement agencies around the state who can assist local law enforcement when circumstances require advanced tactical response. ALERT teams have standardized specialized equipment, follow the same operating procedures, and have standardized training in area such as weapons of mass destruction, explosive breach and hostage rescue. These capabilities are deployed regularly throughout the state to assist local law enforcement.

    Water Patrol

    The La Crosse County Sheriff's Office Water Patrol is a Department of Natural Resources subsidized program in which La Crosse County, through the Sheriff's Department, provides boating law enforcement within La Crosse County between Memorial Day Weekend and Labor Day Weekend.

    The Water Patrol is responsible for patrol and enforcement on 22 nautical miles of the Mississippi River; Lake Onalaska, which consists of 7,688 acres; and a portion of the Black River. The Mississippi River and the Black River yield a high concentration of boat traffic throughout the summer months. With well over 11,000 registered boats in La Crosse County and the increase of watercraft traveling on the Mississippi River, the summer boat patrol period is very busy with enforcement and investigation of accidents.

    Two boats are operated by the Water Patrol Unit. Both boats are 18' Crestliner 1850 Fishhawks with 150 HP Mercury Optimax motors. These crafts are outfitted with lifesaving and emergency medical equipment.

    With the increase of watercraft on local waterways, the La Crosse County Sheriff's Department encourages all boaters to take part in a boater safety course.

    Community Services

    The La Crosse County Sheriff’s Office is committed to serving the public through a variety of Community Service programs.  The Sheriff’s Department dedicates a full-time Deputy to help with coordination efforts and educational activities within the County.  The list below highlights our active programs.  If you are interested in starting up any of these programs in your area; or would like to setup a presentation, please contact Deputy Cody Bernhardt at 608-785-6217 or by email.


    • Student Education
      • DARE: Drug Abuse Resistance Education
      • GREAT: Gang Resistance Education And Training
    • Neighborhood Education
    • Crime Prevention Presentations
    • Safety/Drug Presentations
    • Educational Events

      back to top