× Unsupported Browser: Some features may not work properly in Interent Explorer. Please use one of the supported browsers - Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Microsoft Edge.

Sheriff's Office


Emergency Management

Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)
Planning for the Safety of La Crosse County Residents in the Event of an Emergency

On October 16, 1986, the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA) was signed into law. Title III of this act is also known as the Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act (EPCRA). This Act is to empower citizens and emergency responders with the Right to Know what chemicals exist in communities where they live and work. It mandated planning for chemical emergencies and established a chain of command to assure that the requirements are met. 


The Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) for La Crosse County is mandated by Federal and State regulations to Plan and Mitigate for, Respond to and Recover from ALL Hazardous Materials emergencies. Numerous elements are integrated into this process and the assistance from many people is required to meet the requirements of the E mergency P lanning and C ommunity Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA). 


The LEPC has representatives from specific areas that have knowledge and interests in assisting in environmental emergency planning, here are the groups:

  • Chemical Industry

  • Citizens

  • Government Officials

  • Private Business

  • Transportation

  • Law Enforcement

  • Fire Service

  • Corporations

  • Environmental Organizations

  • Hospitals

  • Civil Defense

  • Print & Broadcast Media

  • Community Groups

LEPC Meeting Schedule:

Next Meetings - July 17th, 2024 ; September 18th, 2024 ; November 20th, 2024

(9am-10am) Administrative Building, Room 100&101

These meetings are open to the public. We welcome your questions!

State of Wisconsin LEPC Work Group Newsletters

LEPC Newsletter - June 2024

LEPC Newsletter - March 2024

LEPC Newsletter - December 2023

LEPC Newsletter - September 2023

LEPC Newsletter - July 2023

LEPC Newsletter - June 2023

Committee Members:


Adam Jacobson, EPCRA Facility

Bob Ritger, Citizen, Community Activist 

Carol Drury, Public Health

Dan Smith, EPCRA Facility

Margaret Larson, La Crosse County Board Official

David Steinberg, La Crosse County Emergency Services Director

Jeff Schott, Fire Services-City of La Crosse Fire Department

Jill Billings, Elected Official, Wisconsin State Representative

Jim Krueger, Transportation, La Crosse MTU

Joshua Olson, EPCRA Facility

Kelly Wilde, Media

Marc Schultz, Vice Chair, Retired Community Activist

Mike Horstman, Chair, La Crosse County Sheriff's Office

Nick Goldbeck, EPCRA Facility

Paul Albrecht, Hospital

Tom Wright, Hospital

Tracy Hameau, Secretary, La Crosse County Sheriff's Office of Emergency Management Coordinator

LEPC Bylaws - 2023

Mission Statement

Under EPCRA, the La Crosse County LEPC is the focal point for chemical emergency response planning and implementation in a community. The LEPC's key responsibilities are:


* Assisting local jurisdictions in developing hazardous materials emergency response plans

* Evaluating the community's need for resources to respond to hazardous materials emergencies

* Processing requests from the public for information on hazardous chemicals in their communities