EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Thursday, March 17, 2011 Room B390, Administrative Center 5:30 P.M.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Steve Doyle, Jill Billings (5:32 p.m.), Vicki Burke, Sharon Hampson, Tara Johnson, Don Meyer, Marilyn Pedretti, Roger Plesha, Charles Spiker **MEMBERS EXCUSED**: None

MEMBERS ABSENT: None

OTHERS PRESENT: Steve O'Malley, Bob Taunt, Margaret Norden, Bill Shepherd, Gary Ingvalson, Mary Marco, Andrea Richmond, Ralph Geary, Jeff Schroeder, Betsy Bloom

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Chair Steve Doyle called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

RESOLUTION RE: ADOPTION OF 2011-2013 COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENTS FOR THE FOLLOWING UNIONS: AFSCME LOCAL 2484 PROFESSIONAL; PARA PROFESSIONAL & CLERICAL; LAKEVIEW EMPLOYEES; HIGHWAY AND PARKS EMPLOYEES; JAILERS; WPPA TELECOMMUNICATORS; SEIU LOCAL 150 HILLVIEW

The Resolution states that AFSCME Local 2484 union employees in five units, WPPA employees in one unit, and SEIU Local 150 have tentatively agreed to the following contract changes: A wage freeze for 2011; a 2% wage increase each year for 2012 and 2013; 50% of Wisconsin Retirement System retirement contributions beginning in 2012; no change to shares of La Crosse County's self-insured health insurance premiums in 2011, but subject to any premium increases or decreases in 2012 and 2013. Steve O'Malley reported that the Sheriff's bargaining unit declined to participate. Bob Taunt reported that the governor's budget repair bill assumes a 2% cost of living raise so the County's agreement is in line with the bill. Chair Doyle pointed out that employees are actually taking a 3.8% paycheck decrease. Taunt said that employee contributions to their health insurance through the County's selffunded program will remain the same in 2011, and Gary Ingvalson reported that the County saves money because the County's health insurance is cheaper than the State of Wisconsin program. There was brief discussion about considerations for non-union employees, which will be addressed in coming months, and the County's eventual migration to a civil service system. **MOTION** by Johnson/Meyer to approve the Resolution Re: Adoption of 2011-2013 Collective Bargaining Agreements for the Following Unions: AFSCME Local 2484 Professional; Para Professional & Clerical; Lakeview Employees; Highway and Parks Employees; Jailers; WPPA Telecommunicators; SEIU Local 150 Hillview. Motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION by Pedretti/Spiker to adjourn. **Motion carried unanimously.** The meeting adjourned at 5:48 p.m.

Approved, April 14, 2011, Margaret Norden, Recorder