FARMLAND PRESERVATION COMMITTEE

Thursday, January 13, 2011 City Hall, Onalaska– Room 112 4:00 PM – 5:35 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Tina Wehrs; Marilyn Pedretti; Deena Murphy; Keith Valiquette; Mike Weibel; Don Bina
MEMBERS EXCUSED: Mike Dummer; John Lautz; Ilona Hansen
MEMBERS ABSENT: None
STAFF & GUESTS: Charles Handy; Gregg Stangl

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL 4:00 PM by Chair - Tina Wehrs

APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM DECEMBER 2, 2010 MEETING. Motion Weibel/Pedretti to approve minutes 6 aye – 0 no – 3 excused (Dummer, Lautz, Hansen)

APPROVAL OF LA CROSSE COUNTY APPLICATIONS FOR 2011

Charlie handed out a spreadsheet with data ranking the six applicants with various scoring criteria. These criteria included the local LESA Scores, the Estimated state scores, 2010 applicant scores, and other pertinent information. Significant discussion about scoring criteria by state, and how the County should view the six applicants in front of them. Don Bina discussed sending another letter to DATCP and the PACE Council about Criteria. Committee recommended we discuss this issue further at a later meeting and consider this letter later in the year. Members discussed difference between forwarding as many applications to the state as possible, or retaining some credibility and only sending on as many as might score well at the state level. Committee discussed other considerations, unique characteristics of the driftless region. Wannemuhler has a "Crop" of large whitetail deer. Is this considered an important Ag commodity?

Motion Weibel/Valiquette to accept all applications with 30% or more prime soils. 4 aye – 2 no (Wehrs – Pedretti) – 3 excused (Dummer, Lautz, Hansen)

Motion Bina/Murphy to adjourn at 5:35 PM. 6 aye – 0 no – 3 excused (Dummer, Lautz, Hansen)

Meeting adjourned at 5:35 PM

The above minutes may be approved, amended, or corrected at the next committee meeting Charles Handy, Recorder