JOINT CITY/COUNTY EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES COMMISSION

Wednesday, August 25, 2010 - 4:00 p.m. La Crosse County Administrative Center, Room 3220

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Mayor Mike Giese, Steve Doyle, Ron Paczkowski, Nancy Proctor, Bruce Ranis, Dr. Eric Voter
MEMBERS EXCUSED:	Jerry Arndt, Tara Johnson
MEMBERS ABSENT:	Mayor Matt Harter, Dr. Dan Lenselink, Ken Manke
OTHERS PRESENT:	Steve O'Malley, Jim Klock, Jay Loeffler, Vicki Burke, Tom Tornstrom, John Zahn, Mike Kemp, Dave Lang, Dennis Manthei,

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Mayor Giese, Committee Chair, called the meeting to order at 4:02 p.m. /Roll Call

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion by Proctor/Doyle to approve the meeting minutes of May 26, 2010 **MOTION passed unanimously.** Arndt, Johnson excused: Harter, Lenselink, and Manke absent.

REPORT ON RESPONSE TIMES: Tom Tornstrom

Hand out - Tri-State Ambulance EMS Commission Response Report – Hand out. Tom Tornstrom, Director of Operations, explained the months of May, June and July responses have all been compiled in this report. He went over the zone boundaries, requirements and detailed the information and understanding of the fractile response times for each zone. Tornstrom continued to the map which indicates the requesting locations the calls are generated, and lastly the fiscal numbers from January 1st to date.

REPORT ON ADOPTION OF RESOLUTION TO APPROVE ACCEPTANCE OF AGREEMENTS FOR EMERGENCY AMBULANCE SERVICES BY LA CROSSE COUNTY MUNICIPALITIES – Hand out of Agreement Adaptation.

Approved Agreement

- La Crosse County
- City of Onalaska
- Village of Holmen * (pending)
- Town of Campbell
- Town of Medary
- Town of Onalaska

No Action

- City of La Crosse
- Village of West Salem (Resolving questions with Bill Shepherd)
- Town of Barre
- Town of Farmington (Have own agreement with Tri-State Ambulance)
- Town of Greenfield *
- Town of Hamilton (Resolving questions with Bill Shepherd)
- Town of Shelby *
- Town of Washington *
 - (* To be included in future agenda.)

Steve Doyle advised the Joint City/County EMS Commission was created with the idea of having better coordination among the Municipalities and oversight as to the activities of the provider, in this case being Tri-State Ambulance. The County has no statutory authority to provide Emergency Ambulance Services so it is the responsibility of the cities, villages and towns. There was further discussion by the commission regarding the lack of involvement by the City of La Crosse and the importance of all parties coming together to ratify the agreement.

Dr. Voter stressed the importance of regionalization with unified communities, unified protocols and a unified system all working together. Steve O'Malley pointed out that it would be in the best interest of the City of La Crosse to participate. The City wanted the formation of this commission for examining performance and challenging Tri-State to do the best job they could for the community as transparent as possible. O'Malley said it also provides a forum if the City ever decides to get into the ambulance service and what that transition would be. Jim Klock stated that Tri-State will continue to provide good care and good response times regardless. Chair Giese said there is an opportunity for best practice, good management and adaptation to change, which will inevitably come in the future within this agreement. He said it will be in the citizen's best interest to have this commission as a vehicle for articulation. Chair Giese recommended Tri-State accept the contract and the commission move forward without the City of La Crosse signing on at this time.

Tom Tornstrom, Director of Operations, said Tri-State will continue with service and do the right thing but as has been said, regionalization is important.

CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTIONS ON INDEPENDENT OVERSIGHT ENTITY - Chair Giese advised this will need to be on hold until there is ratification of the agreement.

ITEMS FOR FUTURE AGENDAS

Items to be determined.

NEXT MEETING DATE

Thursday, September 30, 2010 – 4:00 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION by Doyle/Proctor to Adjourn. **Motion carried unanimously.** Arndt, Johnson excused: Harter, Lenselink and Manke absent. Meeting adjourned at 4:40 p.m.

Approved 02/24/2011, Patti Jakowski, Recorder