# ASSESSMENT REFORM STUDY COMMITTEE

August 18, 2010 Hazel Brown Leicht Memorial Library 201 Neshonoc Rd., West Salem, WI 54669 7:00 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Ralph Geary, Vicki Burke, Dan Ferries, Sharon Hampson, Ray Ebert (County Board Members)
MEMBERS EXCUSED:	Bill Brockmiller
MEMBERS ABSENT:	None
OTHERS PRESENT:	From the County: Steve O'Malley, (County Administrator), Steve Doyle, (County Board Chairman), Jeff Bluske, (Director, Zoning, Planning & Land Information), Karl Green (UW Extension), Pam Hollnagel, (Zoning, Planning & Land Information & Recorder) County Board Members: Jeff Schroeder, Marilyn Pedretti
	Municipalities: Greg Peterson, (President Village of Bangor), Linda Young, (President Village of Rockland), Sandy Thompson, (Town of Onalaska Supervisor), Ken Manke, (Town of Bangor Chairman), Jeff Brudos, (Town of Shelby Administrator), Larry Wuensch, (Town of Bangor Supervisor), Richard Schomburg, (Town of Hamilton Chairman), Les Milde, (Assessor, T Medary, V Bangor, V Rockland, C Onalaska), Bud Raymer, (Assessor T Onalaska), Jerry Kins, (Assessor T Farmington), Barrett Brenner, (Assessor), Michael Hesse, (Town of Farmington Chairman), Betty Sacia, (Town of Farmington Clerk)

### CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Chair Ralph Geary called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

# **APPROVAL OF JULY 26, 2010 MEETING MINUTES**

Burke/Hampson motioned to approve minutes, approved unanimously

### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

There was no public comment

# DISCUSSION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Was moved to no. 4 on the agenda. After much discussion/concern regarding enough representation on the committee from the Towns and Villages and collaboration, it was decided the committee will consist of 9 total members, 6 County Board Members (3 from the Towns and 3 from the Cities) and 1 representative from the Village of Holmen and 2 Towns Representatives. The Towns representatives will be appointed at the next Towns Association meeting which is being held Thursday August 26, 2010 at 7:30 p.m. at the Greenfield Town Hall. Vicki Burke appealed to the Towns people attending to contact their representatives on the County Board and ask them to serve on this Committee to fill the last County Board Member position from the Towns.

Ray Ebert from the Town of Hamilton was appointed <u>as a County Board Member</u> to serve on the Committee by Steve Doyle.

## **ROBERTS RULES OF ORDER PRESENTATION**

William Shepherd, (Corporation Counsel) discussed the main points of Roberts Rules. Mainly 1 person speaks at a time. Don't interrupt and a decision needs to be made before moving on to the next item. The majority rules but let the minority have their say; it's a common sense way to handle a large assembly. Follow the agenda and the open meetings law is state statute in Wisconsin.

## ASSESSING METHODS PRESENTATIONS

Mark Schlafer, La Crosse City Assessor, gave a summary of the methods and procedures used by the City of La Crosse Assessor's Office. A memo with this information was distributed by Mark.

Les Milde, City of Onalaska, Village of Bangor, Village of Rockland and Town of Medary Assessor gave a summary of the methods and procedures on the methods his office uses to assess. Les distributed a paper regarding information on Local Assessor Policies.

Bud Raymer, Town of Onalaska Assessor, explained a little on the history of the assessor – how they used to be elected and now they are appointed. He also discussed the continuing education requirements that the Department of Revenue now requires.

Jerry Kins, Town of Farmington Assessor, explained that he only assesses rural areas and reviewed the differences that can occur from assessing cities. Assessing contracts were also discussed.

After each of the above presentations a question and answer session was held, questions from both the public and the Committee were addressed.

## UPDATE ON STATE ASSESSMENT WORK GROUP

This presentation by Jeff Bluske was deferred to the next meeting and is to be first on the agenda.

# **FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS**

Jeff Bluske is to be contacted for future agenda items, please contact Jeff at (608) 785-9724 or <u>Bluske.jeff@co.la-crosse.wi.us</u>.

- 1. Have a Department of Revenue representative explain the equalization process.
- 2. Jeff Bluske is to compose a brief overview of the Assessor's Manual that is located on the Department of Revenue's website.

### NEXT COMMITTEE MEETING

September 9, 2010 at 7:00 p.m. in Room 3220 of the County Administrative Center, 400 4<sup>th</sup> St. N., La Crosse, WI 54601, this is now the permanent meeting room.

### ADJOURNMENT

Motion by Hampson/Burke to adjourn meeting at 9:18 p.m. carried unanimously.

Approved, September 9, 2010

Pam Hollnagel, Recorder