

LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

SERVING THE LA CROSSE (WI)/LA CRESCENT (MN) URBANIZED AREA

Minutes of Technical Advisory Committee Meeting, July 9, 2025

Minutes of the meeting of the Technical Advisory Committee held at 2:30 pm on Wednesday, July 9, 2025, in room 1107 of the La Crosse County Administrative Center and by Microsoft Teams.

Members Present/On Call: Voting: Chris Dahl, Stephanie Sward, Ken Harwood, Charlie Handy, Jarrod Holter, Chelsey Boldon, Joe Langeberg, Andrea Trane, Jeffrey Tripp, Bill Waller, Brian McCoy

Members Excused: Jim Krueger, Christina Peterson, Jason Gottfried, Loren Schwier, Voni Vegar.

Guests and Staff: Bob Gollnik, Erin Duffer, Travis Key, Francis Schelfhout, Nikki Kvam, Matthew Sorensen, Jason Nordberg, Cory Mikshowsky.

Bob Gollnik called the meeting to order at 2:31 pm.

1. Approval of minutes of the May 14, 2024, meeting.

Charlie Handy motioned to approve the minutes of the May 14 meeting; Chris Dahl seconded. All were in favor.

 Recommendation to approve amending the 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) List. Erin Duffer provided an overview of the items being amended in the TIP List and changes to state ID and funding source for a Wisconsin DOT project.

Jarrod Holter motioned to recommend to the Policy Board to approve the amendment to the 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) List and Document; Charlie Handy seconded. All were in favor.

3. Recommendation to approve the 2026-2029 Minnesota Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) List. Erin prefaced that Minnesota is on an earlier TIP schedule for adoption than Wisconsin. Key change in this amendment includes adding funding for Dresbach bridge's resurfacing project.

Chris Dahl motioned to recommend to the Policy Board to approve the 2026-2029 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) List; Ken Harwood seconded. All were in favor.

4. Recommendation to approve Version Two of Supporting the Designation of the MIssissippe River Trail (MRT) within the limits of LAPC's Metropolitan Planning Area (MPA).

Bob introduces agenda item and prompts Francis Schelfhout to give more information to the committee regarding this designation update.

Francis explains that WisDOT worked with MnDOT to change signing on MRT to the Wagon-Wheel Trail instead of along US 14/61. This designation update also changes the routing for the Wisconsin-Minnesota connection because of the new cycle track along 2nd Street in La Crosse.

Technical Advisory Committee

Voting Members: Chris Dahl, Matt Gallager, Ken Harwood, Charlie Handy, Jarrod Holter, Jim Krueger, Paula Silha, Joe Langeberg, Christina Peterson, Bryan McCoy, Loren Schwier, Andrea Trane, Jeffrey Tripp, Voni Vegar, Bill Waller, Brian McCoy Non-voting Members: Jason Nordberg, Evan Gross, Matthew Sorensen, Dena Ryan, Francis Schelfhout



LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

SERVING THE LA CROSSE (WI)/LA CRESCENT (MN) URBANIZED AREA

Erin clarifies that signing, in addition to routing, will be moved off of US 14/61 on to the Wagon-Wheel Trail on the Minnesota side of the MRT.

Jarrod Holter motioned to recommend to the Policy Board to approve Version Two of Supporting the Designation of the Mississippi River Trail (MRT) within the limits of LAPC's Metropolitan Planning Area (MPA); Joe Langeberg seconded. All were in favor.

5. Grant Program Updates: STP-U, TAP, SS4A, RCE, etc.

Erin shared presentation with high-level information regarding STP-Urban solicitation. LAPC is still waiting on funding allocation numbers. The committee is advised to CC or share with LAPC staff their applications for review before submitting their application.

2026-203 TAP applications are set to open soon and the application portal will be exclusively online this round. Important notice for the group; MPOs must submit applications before the deadline for review. This may warrant a special meeting in October to rank submitted projects, meaning the deadline for submittals may also be in October. Additionally noted that applications should be sent a copy separately from their online submission so that LAPC staff can review them. Consult the WisDOT website for more details. Ken Harwood offers to include TAP solicitation information in MRRPC's newsletter.

Bob shared an update regarding SS4A, numerous legal injunctions have slowed the review process, but it is believed that LAPC's contract is through phase 1 of its review and is still on track to be committed.

Similar story regarding Rail Crossing Elimination grants received by LAPC and La Crescent. All required documents have been submitted to the FRA and we are waiting for additional information before proceeding.

The Regional Transit Authority Feasibility Study is now underway as LAPC staff have met with SRF staff that will be leading the project. The study must be finished by April/May 2026 as required by LAPC's financial agreement with WisDOT.

6. MTP update.

Bob Gollnik and Erin Duffer shared a presentation with the drafted Goals and Objectives for the Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) for comments, questions, or concerns from the committee. Ken Harwood shared a concern regarding terminology being flagged by potential reviewers. LAPC staff is aware of the concern and is being mindful regarding language and federal requirements for LAPC's long-range transportation plan.

7. September 2025 agenda items: 2025-2028 TIP amendment, MTP, Functional Classification Bob Gollnik asks the committee to share any updates or requests for the next TAC meeting.

Jarrod Holter shares that Onalaska is planning to apply for the Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP).

Technical Advisory Committee

Voting Members: Chris Dahl, Matt Gallager, Ken Harwood, Charlie Handy, Jarrod Holter, Jim Krueger, Paula Silha, Joe Langeberg, Christina Peterson, Bryan McCoy, Loren Schwier, Andrea Trane, Jeffrey Tripp, Voni Vegar, Bill Waller, Brian McCoy Non-voting Members: Jason Nordberg, Evan Gross, Matthew Sorensen, Dena Ryan, Francis Schelfhout



LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

SERVING THE LA CROSSE (WI)/LA CRESCENT (MN) URBANIZED AREA

Chris Dahl shares that the director of public works in Holmen has retired and that he is taking over some responsibilities which may affect his ability to contribute to the TAC. To address this, Chris Dahl names Cory Mikshowsky as his alternate.

8. Other business; Adjourn; Next meeting to be announced.

Jarrod Holter motioned to adjourn at 3:02pm; Charlie Handy seconded. All were in favor.

Technical Advisory Committee

Voting Members: Chris Dahl, Matt Gallager, Ken Harwood, Charlie Handy, Jarrod Holter, Jim Krueger, Paula Silha, Joe Langeberg, Christina Peterson, Bryan McCoy, Loren Schwier, Andrea Trane, Jeffrey Tripp, Voni Vegar, Bill Waller, Brian McCoy Non-voting Members: Jason Nordberg, Evan Gross, Matthew Sorensen, Dena Ryan, Francis Schelfhout