

LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

SERVING THE LA CROSSE (WI)/LA CRESCENT (MN) URBANIZED AREA

Minutes of Technical Advisory Committee Meeting, May 14, 2025

Minutes of the meeting of the Technical Advisory Committee held at 2:30 pm on Wednesday, May 14, 2025, in room 1107 of the La Crosse County Administrative Center and by Microsoft Teams.

Members Present/On Call: Voting: Chris Dahl, Matt Gallager, Ken Harwood, Charlie Handy, Jarrod Holter, Jim Krueger, Chelsey Boldon, Joe Langeberg, Christina Peterson, Bryan McCoy, Loren Schwier, Andrea Trane, Jeffrey Tripp, Brian McCoy

Members Excused: Voni Vegar, Bill Waller

Guests and Staff: Bob Gollnik, Erin Duffer, Travis Key, Francis Schelfhout, Nikki Kvam, Stephanie Sward, Kia Kling, Matthew Sorensen

Erin Duffer called the meeting at 2:30pm.

1. Approval of minutes of the May 14th, 2025, meeting.

Charlie Handy motioned to approve the minutes of the March 12th, 2025, TAC meeting; Ken Harwood seconded. *All were in favor.*

2. Safe Streets and Roads for All (SS4A) Comprehensive Safety Action plan update:

LAPC posted a request for proposals to complete the safety action plan and three were selected for interview from a pool of 6 submittals. Bolton & Menk were ultimately selected to move forward with their proposal.

LAPC is now waiting for FHWA to complete their approval process and to finalize a grant agreement. Work with Bolton & Menk cannot begin until a grant agreement is signed.

3. MTP Engagement update:

LAPC has been conducting illustrative project discussions with each of its member communities. All but three have been consulted and the remaining communities will be met with soon.

Discussions have been productive and will shape the illustrative project list as well as the recommendations for the MTP.

4. Association of Metropolitan Planning Organizations (AMPO) Advocacy Toolkit update:

Overview of the AMPO advocacy toolkit contents including, legislative priorities, template language, '101' style one-pagers explaining the importance of MPOs, etc. LAPC staff will be presenting this toolkit at the May 21st Policy Board meeting.

Charlie adds that the County Policy Board can be a resource to LAPC. The rest of the committee is glad that resources like this are available.

Technical Advisory Committee

Voting Members: Chris Dahl, Matt Gallager, Ken Harwood, Charlie Handy, Jarrod Holter, Jim Krueger, Chelsey Bolden, Joe Langeberg, Christina Peterson, Bryan McCoy, Loren Schwier, Andrea Trane, Jeffrey Tripp, Voni Vegar, Bill Waller, Brian McCoy Non-voting Members: Jason Nordberg, Evan Gross, Matthew Sorensen, Francis Schelfhout



LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

SERVING THE LA CROSSE (WI)/LA CRESCENT (MN) URBANIZED AREA

5. July 2025 agenda items: 2025-2028 TIP amendment:

Francis gives update regarding Mississippi River Trail connection between Minnesota and Wisconsin. MRT Route is to be adjusted along the Minnesota side to prioritize the Wagon-Wheel Trail. On the Wisconsin side, the MRT will be formally established. These changes are expected to occur later this summer.

Bob updated the committee that the Brice Prairie Rail Crossing Elimination (RCE) grant will likely be underway by the next TAC meeting.

The County Board and the City of La Crosse Council passed a formal opposition to the proposed rail crossing closures on the Northside of La Crosse at the intersections of Liberty & St. Cloud and Avon & Hagar.

6. Other business; Adjourn; Next meeting is July 9th, 2025.

Jim Krueger motioned to adjourn, Charlie Handy seconded. Meeting adjourned.

Technical Advisory Committee

Voting Members: Chris Dahl, Matt Gallager, Ken Harwood, Charlie Handy, Jarrod Holter, Jim Krueger, Chelsey Bolden, Joe Langeberg, Christina Peterson, Bryan McCoy, Loren Schwier, Andrea Trane, Jeffrey Tripp, Voni Vegar, Bill Waller, Brian McCoy Non-voting Members: Jason Nordberg, Evan Gross, Matthew Sorensen, Francis Schelfhout