

La Crosse Area Planning Committee

Metropolitan Planning Organization Serving the La Crosse/La Crescent Urbanized Area

Bob Gollnik, Executive Director Erin Duffer, Transportation Planner
La Crosse County Administrative Center
212 6th St N

Room 1600

La Crosse, WI 54601
PH: 608.785.5597 Website: https://lacrossecounty.org/mpo

DATE: July 2, 2024

TO: Committee on Transit and Active Transportation

FROM: Erin Duffer, LAPC Staff

SUBJECT: July 11, 2024, Committee Meeting Notice

The meeting of the Committee on Transit and Active Transportation will be held on Thursday, July 11, 2024, at 3:30 p.m. in person in Room 2106 and as a virtual meeting. If you cannot attend in person, please use the information provided below to join the Teams meeting.

- 1. Approval of the minutes of the May 9, 2024, CTAT meeting.
- 2. Discussion and presentation on Week Without Driving with America Walks.
- 3. Other updates and information items:
 - a) Update: Carbon Reduction Program Applications.
 - b) Update: TAP Applications and WisDOT Project Ready Federal Redistribution Applications.
 - c) Update: 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan Engagement RFP.
 - d) Events recap: Inaugural Borealis service, Making Connections in La Crosse, and West Salem bicycle and pedestrian bridge opening.
 - e) Committee member updates.
- 4. Future agenda items.
- 5. Adjourn, next meeting TBA.

Microsoft Teams meeting

Join on your computer, mobile app or room device

Click here to join the meeting Meeting ID: 246 671 614 42

Passcode: orNDTF

Download Teams | Join on the web

Or call in (audio only)

+1 262-683-8845,,328126485# United States, Kenosha

Phone Conference ID: 328 126 485# Find a local number | Reset PIN

If you need assistance participating in this meeting, please contact Erin Duffer at 608-785-5597 or at eduffer@lacrossecounty.org as soon as possible.

Minutes and agendas for all LAPC committees can be found at: https://lacrossecounty.org/mpo.

Committee on Transit and Active Transportation

Bridget Brown, Rick Diermeier, Jenna Dinkel, Jackie Eastwood, Ken Harwood Krista Heinz, Jim Krueger, Jim Longhurst, Jason Ludwigson, Jennifer Morris Francis Schelfhout, Sandy Sechrest, Paula Silha, Cathy Van Maren, Kurt Wayne



La Crosse Area Planning Committee

Metropolitan Planning Organization Serving the La Crosse/La Crescent Urbanized Area

Bob Gollnik, Executive Director Erin Duffer, Transportation Planner
La Crosse County Administrative Center
212 6th Street North
Room 1600
La Crosse, WI 54601-1200
PH: 608.785.5977 Website: https://lacrossecounty.org/mpo

Minutes of the Committee on Transit and Active Transportation, May 9, 2024, Meeting

Minutes of the meeting of the CTAT held in-person and as a virtual meeting on Teams on Thursday, May 9, 2024, at 3:30 pm.

Members Present: Bridget Brown, Jim Longhurst, Jenna Dinkel, Ken Harwood, Jim Krueger, Jenny Morris, Francis Schelfhout, Paula Silha, Cathy Van Maren, Kurt Wayne, Staff and Others Present: Erin Duffer, Bob Gollnik, Brian McCoy, and Jacob Sciammas.

Erin Duffer called the meeting to order at 3:30 pm.

1) Approval of minutes of the January 11, 2024 CTAT Meeting:

Jim Krueger motioned to approve the minutes of the January 11, 2024, meeting; Jim Longhurst seconded. All were in favor.

2) Recommendation to approve Supporting the Designation of the Mississippi River Trail (MRT) Within the Limits of LAPC's Metropolitan Planning Area (MPA):

Francis Shelfhout provided an overview of the MRT process and progress to date and is on track for a March 2025 deadline for all final approvals. Resolutions of support have been received by the majority of municipalities in the LAPC area, except for City of La Crosse, which is forthcoming.

Jim Krueger motioned to approve the recommending Support of the Designation of the Mississippi River Trail (MRT) Within the Limits of LAPC's Metropolitan Planning Area (MPA); Jim Longhurst seconded. All were in favor.

3) Presentation and discussion with Drift Share Inc.'s President, Jacob Sciammas.

Jacob Sciammas gave an overview of drift cycle, and fielded questions on future demand and expansion. Jacob discussed interest in another feasibility study to identify needs and patterns of use.

4) Metropolitan Transportation Plan community survey review.

Erin Duffer shared the draft survey questions with the committee and provided background on question development. Cathy Van Maren suggested to inquire about price of parking be included as part of 'cost of driving." Cathy also reiterated the importance of including Climate Action Plans for City and County into plan objectives. Erin asked the committee to review the questions and email any suggestions to her.

5) Other updates and information items:

Jenna Dinkel shared that the City of La Crosse is in the final stages of their Bicycle and Pedestrian Mater Plan and that a draft plan will be ready to review.

Erin Duffer provided updates and fielded questions on a number of items:

- TAP Applications and WisDOT Project Ready Federal Redistribution Applications
- Safe Streets 4 All planning grant application
- TCMC, now known as Borealis, service beginning end of the month
- AARP and 1000 Friends of Wisconsin hosting Making Connections in La Crosse event on May 30, 2024. Event kicks off at 9am for a "Ride with the Mayor" and then follows with a panel and reception at UW-L and then a movie screening at the Rivoli at 5:30pm.

Bridget Brown updated members on continuing issues at Jackson Street and West Ave Street in La Crosse where Audible Pedestrian Signal remains a problem, along with a number of other complications, including pole location.

Cathy Van Maren reminded members of National Trails Day on June 1, which will be sponsored by Coulee Region Sierra Club. Cathy also noted that the La Crosse Area Transit Advocate group took a trip on SMRT bus to Viroqua. The group discussed issues with drivers and riders. There is a strong interest in doing whatever possible to maintain and expand SMRT services. Ken Hardwood reiterated the importance of SMRT bus in our rural communities.

Kurt Wayne introduced Brian McCoy and shared that Brian will now serve as the MnDOT representative in the committee moving forward.

6) Future agenda items:

Cathy Van Maren reminded the committee that September 30 through October 6 is week without driving. The committee and staff expressed interest in supporting the week's activities.

7) Adjourn; Next meeting TBA:

Erin Duffer announced the next meeting on July 11, 2024 at 3:30pm.

Jim Krueger motioned to adjourn at 4:55 pm; Jim Longhurst seconded. All were in favor.