

# LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

SERVING THE LA CROSSE (WI)/LA CRESCENT (MN) URBANIZED AREA

## Minutes of Committee on Transit and Active Transportation, March 13, 2025

**Minutes of the meeting of the CTAT** held in-person and as a virtual meeting on Teams on Thursday, March 13, 2025, at 3:30 pm.

**Members Present:** Bridget Brown, Rick Diermeier, Rick Diermeier, Francis Schelfhout, Jim Longhurst, Jenna Dinkel, Jim Krueger, Jenny Morris, Paula Silha, Maggie Smith, Cathy Van Maren, Brian McCoy, and Andrew Ericson. **Staff and Others Present:** Erin Duffer, Travis Key, Charlie Handy, Chelsey Bolden, and Riley Pierringer.

Erin Duffer called the meeting to order at 3:30pm.

### 1) Approval of the minutes of the January 9, 2025, CTAT meeting.

Jenna Dinkel motioned to approve the minutes of the January 9, meeting; Bridget Brown seconded. All were in favor.

2) UWL undergraduate research discussion with Riley Pierringer – MTU bust stop infrastructure.

Riley Pierringer, an undergraduate senior at UWL, presented her research proposal of infrastructure assessment of the MTU bus stops. The committee provided feedback, recommendations, and well wishes on her research.

### 3) MTP engagement update.

Erin Duffer provided an update on engagement efforts for the MTP, highlighting the key goals and findings as they relate to active transportation.

### 4) Bike map update.

Travis Key shared that he is working on updating the regional bike map covering the planning area for the public to use and for planning documents. The last regional bike map was updated in 2008. Travis is working with Jenna at the City of La Crosse for design and future distribution.

### 5) Other updates and information items:

a. SMRT Bus

Charlie Handy shared that they conducted a ridership survey and received approximately 40 responses. The committee discussed route signage and some opportunities there.

**b.** Committee member updates.

### 6) Other business; Adjourn; next meeting TBA.

Jenna Dinkel motioned to adjourn at 4:51pm; Maggie Smith seconded. All were in favor.

### **Committee on Transit and Active Transportation**

Bridget Brown, Rick Diermeier, Jenna Dinkel, Andrew Ericson, Ken Harwood Krista Heinz, Jim Krueger, Jim Longhurst, Jason Ludwigson, Brian McCoy, Jennifer Morris, Francis Schelfhout, Paula Silha, Maggie Smith, Cathy Van Maren.