LA CROSSE COUNTY NOTICE OF MEETING

COMMITTEE OR BOARD:	CRIMINAL JUSTICE MANAGEMENT COUNCIL
DATE OF MEETING:	5/21/2025
MEETING PLACE:	Law Enforcement Center Room 1615
TIME OF MEETING:	5:00 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.
TIME OF MEETING.	
PURPOSE OF MEETING:	Monthly Meeting

CJMC MISSION:

The Criminal Justice Management Council seeks a just, coordinated, and accountable criminal justice system for La Crosse County by promoting collaboration and engagement of criminal justice stakeholders and the community.

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Approval of the April 16, 2025 Minutes
- 3. Public Comment
- 4. 2025 CJMC Goal Action Planning: By December 31, 2025, integrate data analysis and stakeholder feedback to identify key characteristics and service gaps for individuals interacting with the criminal legal system at a high frequency, producing 3-5 actionable policy recommendations for the CJMC to present to the Judiciary and Law Committee by January 31, 2026.
- 5. Informational/Misc. Items
- 6. Future Agenda Items
- 7. Adjourn

NEWS MEDIA	OTHER	COMMITTEE MEMBERS
La Crosse Tribune	Jim Verse	Tim Gruenke – Chair
WIZM/WKTY	Judges Huesmann, Levine, Doyle	Araysa Simpson – Vice Chair
WKBH & WLFN	Keith Belzer	Andrew Alvaro Rasmussen
WKBH - TV 8	Mark Clements	Chief Kudron/Captain Avrie Schott
WLSU/WHLA	Mayor Mitch Reynolds	Chief Trisha Stratman
WSM News	Megan DeVore	Ryan Anderson
WXOW-TV 19	Peter Kitzinger	Dr. Suthakaran Veerasamy
WEAU	Ryan Westpfahl	Jason Witt
WPR	Shane Collins	Becky Koske
Magnum Broadcasting	Tonya Van Tol	Jenna Theler
COUNTY DEPARTMENTS	Serena Peloza	Judge Gonzalez/ Judge Horne
County Administrator		Dawn Wacek
County Clerk		Margaret Larson
Facilities		Michael Sersch
Justice Support Services		Mike Baroni
Corp Counsel		Sheriff John Siegal
		Tina Tryggestad
		Jessica Beck
		Curt Teff

A quorum of the Judiciary and Law Committee may also be present at this meeting

MEMBERS: If unable to attend, call Tonya Van Tol 608-785-5815.

PUBLIC COMMENT: The Committee may receive information from the public, but the Committee reserves the right to limit the time that the public may comment and the degree to which members of the public may participate in the meeting.

PERSONS WITH DISABILITY: If you need accommodation to attend this meeting, please contact Tonya Van Tol at (608) 785-5815 or tvantol@lacrossecounty.org as soon as possible.

DATE NOTICE FAXED/MAILED/EMAILED AND POSTED: May 15th, 2025

This meeting may be recorded, and any such recording is subject to disclosure under the Wisconsin Open Records Law.

CRIMINAL JUSTICE MANAGEMENT COUNCIL Wednesday April 16, 2025 Law Enforcement Center Room 1615

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Tim Gruenke, Araysa Simpson, Jenna Theler, Scott Horne, Avrie Schott, Andrew Alvaro-Rasmussen, Ryan Anderson, Becky Koske, Jess Beck, Michael Sersch
MEMBERS EXCUSED:	Tina Tryggestad, Jason Witt, Mike Baroni, Dawn Wacek, Curt Teff, Dr. Suthakaran Veerasamy, John Siegal, Margaret Larson, Trish Stratman
OTHERS PRESENT:	Tonya Van Tol, Heather Quackenboss

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Tim Gruenke called the meeting to order at 5:04 p.m.

APPROVAL of February 19, 2025 MINUTES OF THE CRIMINAL JUSTICE MANAGEMENT COUNCIL:

MOTION by ((Horne/Sersch)) to approve the February 19, 2025 minutes of the Criminal Justice Management Council.

Motion carried unanimously: Witt, Tryggestad, Baroni, Wacek, Teff, Veerasamy, Siegal, Larson, Stratman excused.

PUBLIC COMMENT: None

2025 PLANNING RETREAT CONTINUED: Heather Quackenboss led the final discussion that led to the final 2025 goal alignment for CJMC. By December 31, 2025, integrate data analysis and stakeholder feedback to identify key characteristics and service gaps for individuals interacting with the criminal legal system at a high frequency, producing 3-5 actionable policy recommendations for the CJMC to present to the Judiciary and Law Committee by January 31, 2026. Action steps to accomplish the goal and a discussion about data collection will be on the agenda in May.

INFORMATIONAL / MISC: None

AGENCY UPDATES: None

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS: None

ADJOURN: There being no further business Chair Gruenke adjourned the meeting at 6:22 p.m.

Disclaimer: The above minutes may be approved, amended, or corrected at the next committee meeting.

Recorded by Tonya Van Tol