EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Monday, April 9, 2012 Administrative Center – Room B390

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Tara Johnson, Jill Billings, Vicki Burke, Sharon Hampson, Marilyn Pedretti, Roger Plesha, Chuck Spiker
MEMBERS EXCUSED:	Don Meyer
OTHERS PRESENT:	Steve O'Malley, Dave Holtze, Dave Lange

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Johnson called the meeting to order at 5:45 p.m.

ORDINANCE TO AMEND S. 1.42(1) OF CHAPTER 1 OF THE GENERAL CODE OF LA CROSSE COUNTY, WISCONSIN REGARDING EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP **MOTION** by Burke/Pedretti to approve. This amendment is a housekeeping change to reflect the practice of the County Board Chair appointing at least one supervisor as an atlarge member of the Executive Committee. Such appointment may be needed to meet the 9 membership requirement regardless of whether any of the Vice Chairs are also chairs of a Standing Committee. The current language did not allow selection of additional members to maintain 9 members. If the past chair did not serve, there would be a need to appoint an additional member or there would only be 8 members. MOTION by Burke/Spiker to amend the proposed Ordinance amendment by changing the third sentence to read: The County Board Chair may appoint an additional Supervisor to the Executive Committee to maintain the membership at 9 Supervisors. Current practice is to have 3 officers, plus 5 Standing Committee Chairs, plus an at-large member to equal 9 members. Supervisor Burke talked about the Vice Chairs having additional duties and is not a good idea for Vice Chairs to be Chairs of Committees. Chair Johnson explained the need to give the new 29 Supervisors a clean Chapter 1 so they can hit the ground running. Supervisor Hampson suggested leaving the Ordinance as is and have a larger discussion later. Motion to amend failed 1-6-1. Johnson, Billings, Hampson, Pedretti, Plesha, Spiker opposed; Meyer excused. Original Ordinance to amend passed 6-1-1. Burke opposed, Meyer excused.

ADJOURN

MOTION by Pedretti/Billings to adjourn. **Motion carried unanimously.** The meeting adjourned at 6:08 p.m.

The above minutes may be approved, amended or corrected at the next Committee meeting.

Recorded by Ginny Dankmeyer