# CRIMINAL JUSTICE MANAGEMENT COUNCIL COMMITTEE May 16, 2012 Law Enforcement Center – Room 1615

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Dennis Montabon, Tara Johnson, Ramona Gonzalez, Vicki Burke, Crystal Jensen (for Tim Gruenke), Jason Witt, Mike Johnson, Jim Nesbitt, Tom Locante, Steve Helgeson, Shawn Kudron, Sharon Hampson, Troy Harcey, Rita Zindorf, Mike Desmond, Monica Kruse
MEMBERS EXCUSED:	Keith Belzer, Tim Gruenke, Ann Quinlisk, Michael McHugh, Dick Mial
OTHERS PRESENT:	Steve O'Malley, Jane Klekamp, Doris Daggett, Bev Heebsh, Vicki Gunderson, Alycia Brun, Bill Zollweg, Chris Magnuson, Terri Pavlic

## **CALL TO ORDER**

The meeting was called to order at 7:35 a.m.

# APPROVAL OF APRIL 18, 2012 MINUTES OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

The April 18, 2012 minutes of the Criminal Justice Management Council were approved as submitted.

## **PUBLIC COMMENT**

There was no public comment.

Monica Kruse, County Board Supervisor and Shawn Kudron from the La Crosse Police Department, were introduced as new members of the CJMC.

# **Status Reports:**

<u>Human Services</u>: The remodeling is near completion with changes to the foyer and check-in area of the HHS Building. This is part of the "single point of entry" initiative to help individuals more quickly and efficiently.

<u>District Attorney</u>: Crystal Jensen is the new Deputy District Attorney replacing Brian Barton. There is another attorney starting at the end of the month, at which time they will be at full staff.

Judges: The Supreme Court amended the Court Security and Facilities Ruling.

<u>County Board</u> – Monica Kruse is a new member of the CJMC as Chair of the Health & Human Service Board per the ordinance; Vicki Burke as Chair of Judiciary and Law Committee; and Tara Johnson as County Board Chair.

# CELEBRATION FOR CJMC MEMBERS LEAVING THE COUNCIL

Jim Nesbitt was recognized for his many years of service to the CJMC.

## RECRUITING MEMBERS TO CJMC

A letter was printed in the La Crosse Tribune for recruiting new citizen members for the CJMC. Tara has already received 4 letters of interest. At tomorrow's County Board

# CRIMINAL JUSTICE MANAGEMENT COUNCIL May 16, 2012 Page 2

meeting, appointments will be made for the County Board spots on the council. If anyone is interested in helping with the selection process, please contact Jane.

# **EMLOYMENT RESOURCE PLANNING**

Jane Klekamp distributed chapters 8 and 10 from the Offenders Workforce Development Specialist training and Chris Magnuson, who has been leading this group, was present to discuss the issue. Tara Johnson has made contact with members of the Society of Human Resource Managers (SHRM), but has not yet met with Lori Olson, the instructor at WTC and is the president of the local SHRM chapter. The SHRM members seemed a little skeptical about what they may be able to do, but welcomed the idea of having CJPR Committee present to their membership to find out what we are looking for. Mike Desmond had a discussion with one small employer and will continue to put feelers out there.

# DRUG TREATMENT COURT FINDINGS

Bill Zollweg and Alycia Brun discussed the latest drug court evaluation that they did. They received a small grant from the university to conduct this research. The Drug Court Program first began in 2002, and since then, there have been 117 participants in program. (This number does not include current participants). 62% of the participants were male and 38% were female. There is a 43% graduation rate over the first 10 years of operation, which is about 5 people graduating per year. The 57% who did not graduate were expelled from the program. Of the 50 participants who have graduated from the program, 66% were male and 33% were female.

# SMARTER SENTENCING REPORT FROM ATTENDEES

Some of the CJMC members attended the Smarter Sentencing seminar and all felt it was a very interesting program.

# COMMUNITY REINVESTMENT ACT UPDATE

Jane Klekamp indicated that the Community Reinvestment Act group from Milwaukee will send their Powerpoint information and do a video conference in August.

**NEXT MEETING DATE: June 20, 2012** 

# **ADJOURN**

There being no further business, **MOTION** by Gonzalez/Burke to adjourn the meeting at 8:50 a.m. **Motion carried unanimously**. (Belzer, Gruenke, Quinlisk, McHugh and Mial excused)

The above minutes may be approved, amended or corrected at the next Council meeting.

Approved June 20, 2012, Recorded by Terri Pavlic