FARMLAND PRESERVATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, April 19, 2011 County Administrative Building – Room 3220 – 3rd Floor 4:02 PM – 5:28 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Tina Wehrs; Marilyn Pedretti; Keith Valiquette; Don Bina; Mike Weibel; John Lautz
MEMBERS EXCUSED: Ilona Hansen; Deena Murphy; Mike Dummer
MEMBERS ABSENT: None
STAFF & GUESTS: Charles Handy; Gregg Stangl & Karl Green

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL 4:02 PM by Chair – Tina Wehrs

APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM March 17, 2011 MEETING. Motion Bina/Pedretti to approve minutes 6 aye – 0 no – 3 excused (Hansen; Murphy & Dummer)

FINALIZING GOALS FOR FARMLAND PRESERVATION PLAN. No changes from committee members on Goals that Charlie presented.

Motion Pedretti/Weibel to adopt the overall goals. 6 aye – 0 no – 3 excused (Hansen; Murphy & Dummer)

FARMLAND PRESERVATION AREA MAPPING.

Charlie handed out copies of a letter that was received from Representative Jennifer Schilling supporting the application for PACE, specifically the applications that have come from La Crosse County land owners.

Second letter handed out by Charlie was from DATCP, addressed issue as far as PACE goes. There were 16 landowners that were awarded PACE grants in 2010. Those landowners, through the process of being awarded PACE grant, started the process of investing in appraisals and other legal documents such as Title Insurance. They have invested some of their own money based on an award of a PACE grant and will now not get that award.

Committee broken down into groups setting Farmland Preservation Area Boundaries Workshop at approximately 4:15 PM.

County was broke down into three (3) areas by Charlie – he asked the committee members to take the area of the County that is of the most interest to the individual committee members. 1st Group: Town of Holland and Town of Onalaska 2nd Group: Town of Shelby; Town of Medary and Town of Greenfield 3rd Group: Remainder of the County

Charlie spent some time explaining how the maps were set up and what he wanted from the groups.

Committee reconvened at approximately 5:20 to summarize results of groups.

Motion Weibel/Bina to adjourn at 5:28 P.M. 6 aye – 0 no – 3 excused (Hansen; Murphy & Dummer)

Approved 6/16/11 Charles Handy, Recorder