## LA CROSSE COUNTY NOTICE OF MEETING

COMMITTEE OR BOARD: SOLID WASTE POLICY BOARD

DATE OF MEETING: WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 24, 2011

MEETING PLACE: SOLID WASTE OFFICE BUILDING

6500 STATE ROAD LA CROSSE, WI 54601

TIME OF MEETING: 9:00 AM – NOON

PURPOSE OF MEETING: DISCUSS POLICY ISSUES RELEVANT TO SOLID

WASTE DEPARTMENT

- 1. Call to Order/Roll Call
- 2. Introductions
  - Consent Agenda
  - Approval of Minutes (April, 2010) attached
  - Previous Meeting To Do List attached
- 4. Public Comment\*
- 5. Set Date for Annual Elections last year was July 27, 2010
- 6. Feedback on Annual Meetings
  - a. Fee or no fee
  - b. Format
  - c. Location
- 7. Monthly Director's Report Who would like to receive copies of report and attachments or report only attached
- 8. Department Updates
  - a. Land Use Plan attached
  - b. Entrance Area
    - i. Recommendation requested to modify entrance without property purchase
  - c. Burn Barrel Update attached
  - d. Xcel Response to 2023 Contract Update attached
  - e. Status of Solid Waste Assessment
  - f. Mediation with St. Joseph Construction Company
  - g. Ag Bag Waste
- 9. Policy discussion

Change in Hauler Rebate Agreement

Action Requested: Recommendation to approve - attached

10. Policy discussion

How should future price increases by managed on a policy basis?

Action Requested: Discussion over next 2-4 meetings.

11. Policy discussion

Under what terms and conditions would a new entity be accepted as part of the La Crosse Disposal System?

Action Requested: Discussion over next 2-4 meetings.

- 12. Future Agenda and meeting time
- 13. Adjourn

## **NOTICES FAXED/MAILED TO:**

NEWS MEDIA COUNTY DEPARTMENTS COMMITTEE MEMBERS

La Crosse Tribune County Board Chair David Eddy

Coulee News County Administrator Maureen Freedland

WKBH WLSU WKBT-TV WIZM WLFN WKTY

WXOW-TV Holmen Courier Onalaska Community Life County Clerk Facilities

**OTHERS** SW Dept. Staff Dave Lange

La Crosse County Municipalities Ryan Sheehy

John Staats Steve Schiffli Gary Harter Gary Hougom Rick Frank Larry Hougom Dale Hexom Steve Hogden Jarrod Holter Leon Pfaff Floyd Riester Therese Walter Margaret Wood

**\*PUBLIC COMMENT:** The Committee may receive information from the public, but the Committee reserves the right to limit the time that the public may comment and the degree to which members of the public may participate in the meeting.

**COMMITTEE MEMBERS:** If unable to attend, call Debbie Henriksen at 785-9572. **PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES:** If you need accommodations to attend this meeting, please contact: Solid Waste Department (608) 785-9572 as soon as possible.

DATE POSTED: August 17, 2011