ASSESSMENT REFORM STUDY COMMITTEE

September 9, 2010 Administrative Center 3rd Floor, Room 3220 400 4th St. N., La Crosse WI 54601 7:00 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Ralph Geary, Vicki Burke, Dan Ferries, Sharon Hampson, Ray Ebert

(County Board Members)

Kenneth Manke, (Town of Bangor Chairman), Richard Schomburg, (Town of Hamilton

Chairman) Jeff Brudos, (Town of Shelby Administrator, alternate)

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Bill Brockmiller, Mary Willett

MEMBERS ABSENT: None

OTHERS PRESENT: From the County: Charlie Handy, (La Crosse County Planner), Karl Green (UW

Extension), Pam Hollnagel, (Zoning, Planning & Land Information & Recorder)

Municipalities: Ron Reed, (Town of Barre Chairman), Roger Wolter, (Town of Barre Supervisor), Robert Keil, (Town of Medary Supervisor), Jerome De Florian, (Town of Washington Supervisor), Mark Schlafer, (City of La Crosse Assessor), Paul Kitzman, (Town of Burns Chairman), Sandy Thompson, (Town of Onalaska

Supervisor)

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Chair Ralph Geary called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

APPROVAL OF AUGUST 18, 2010 MEETING MINUTES

Minutes amended by Ray Ebert, "Ray Ebert from the Town of Hamilton was appointed <u>as a County Board Member</u> to serve on the Committee by Steve Doyle".

Motion by Burke/Hampson to approve the minutes of August 18, 2010, as amended, approved unanimously.

PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no public comment

UPDATE ON COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP (Bluske written report)

Jeff Bluske attended the Wisconsin Towns Association local chapter meeting held Thursday night, August 26th in the Town of Greenfield. Jeff presented the fact that the ARSC had voted to have several town board members on the committee. The chapter chairman Ken Manke (also the Town of Bangor Chairman) informed Jeff the following morning that he and the Town of Hamilton Chairman Richard Schomberg had been voted to be the members. In one of their absences, the Town of Shelby Administrator, Jeff Brudos would be the alternate.

Jeff phoned the Village of Holmen seeking a representative and spoke with President Nancy Proctor, she relayed that Mary Willett, the Village of Holmen Administrator would represent the Village. It was also relayed that the Village holds many meetings the first two weeks of the month and it would be helpful if the meetings could be held during the third or fourth weeks. These appointments should make up the full committee now.

EXPLANATION OF THE EQUALIZATION PROCESS (JEANNE PENDL, DEPT. OF REVENUE)

Introduction – the purpose is to provide a brief overview of the Equalization process in the State of Wisconsin. A power point presentation was presented by Jeanne Pendl- Property Assessment Specialist, Western District (Eau Claire). Topics of Discussion that were explained were What is the "Equalized Value?" Why do we have the "Equalized Value?" How is the Equalized Value Developed and the relationship of assessed value to Equalized Value. A handout of the power point presentation was distributed along with a flyer that identifies where publications and reports can be located on the Department of Revenue website.

After the presentation a question and answer session was held, questions from both the public and the Committee were addressed.

REVIEW CHAPTER 4 OF THE ASSESSOR'S MANUAL

A brief review of Chapter 4 of the assessor's manual and the 2010 Annual Calendar of Business Activities that is produced by the Department of Revenue was conducted by Pam Hollnagel. Handouts of these were distributed.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

Jeff Bluske is to be contacted for future agenda items, please contact Jeff at (608) 785-9724 or Bluske.jeff@co.la-crosse.wi.us.

- 1. An overview of how assessing is handled in other states.
- 2. Examples of assessing contracts produced by the DOR and by Zoning, Planning and Land Information.
- 3. Examples of Assessor's record cards.
- 4. A report on which municipalities have assessing contracts with their assessors.

NEXT COMMITTEE MEETING

Wed. September 29, 2010 at 7:00 p.m. in Room 3220 of the County Administrative Center, 400 4th St. N., La Crosse, WI 54601, this is now the permanent meeting room.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion by Burke/Ferries to adjourn meeting at 8:52 p.m. carried unanimously.

Approved, October 27, 2010, Pam Hollnagel, Recorder